Advertisement Theravance, Theravance Biopharma complete separation into two drug companies - Pharmaceutical Business review
Pharmaceutical Business review is using cookies

ContinueLearn More

Theravance, Theravance Biopharma complete separation into two drug companies

Theravance and Theravance Biopharma have announced the completion of the separation of Theravance Biopharma, the research and development-based biopharmaceutical business, from Theravance. to form two, independent, publicly traded companies with differing business objectives and opportunities, via a dividend distribution of Theravance Biopharma shares to Theravance stockholders.

Theravance, Inc., A Royalty Management Company, is focused on maximizing the potential value of the respiratory assets partnered with GlaxoSmithKline plc including RELVAR/BREO ELLIPTA and ANORO ELLIPTA and providing capital returns to stockholders, while Theravance Biopharma is focused on the discovery, development and commercialization of small molecule medicines across a number of therapeutic areas including bacterial infections, central nervous system (CNS)/pain, respiratory disease and gastrointestinal motility dysfunction.

"Now that we have completed the separation, each company will focus its efforts on building value by unlocking unique and promising opportunities," said Rick E Winningham, Chief Executive Officer of both Theravance and Theravance Biopharma.

"Theravance, A Royalty Management Company, will focus on providing a return of capital to stockholders via dividends and potential share repurchases. Theravance Biopharma will continue the research and development activities underway at Theravance. Over the next few months, each will sharpen its strategic focus and complete its leadership team, enabling both companies to execute effectively."

As part of the separation, Theravance has appointed three new board members, Catherine J. Friedman, Paul Pepe and James L. Tyree, who bring successful track records in capital markets and corporate operating roles.

Also in connection with the separation, Henrietta H. Fore, Robert V. Gunderson, Jr., Burton G. Malkiel, Peter S. Ringrose, George M. Whitesides and William D. Young have resigned from the Theravance board, but continue to serve on the Theravance Biopharma board. William Waltrip remains on the board of Theravance and Rick Winningham currently continues to serve as chairman of the board of Theravance.

The board of directors of Theravance Biopharma also added three new board members on June 2, Michael G. Atieh, Eran Broshy and Dean J. Mitchell, who bring leadership and experience in finance, business strategy, late-stage drug development and commercialization.